Justin Bieber “Never Say Never” Movie Premiere

Justin Bieber with Scholastic Kid Reporter Cassandra Hsiao

Canadian singing phenom takes over Los Angeles. Next stop: The World!

Canadian singing phenom takes over Los Angeles. Next stop: The World!

Has anyone ever told you to stop dreaming, it’ll never happen? Well, here’s what Justin Bieber has to say about that: Never Say Never!

My dream certainly came true when my Scholastic editor sent me an email asking if I was interested in covering the red carpet premiere of the Justin Bieber documentaryNever Say Never. I immediately screamed out loud and jumped with joy, turning the whole house upside down. I was on top of the world!

Finally, after much anticipation and preparation, the day of the premiere was here. My heart was pounding as I took my place behind the rope line on Tuesday afternoon. In one hour, Justin Bieber, along with other stars coming to see the movie, would be walking down the red carpet, or in this case, the purple carpet! (Purple is Justin’s favorite color.)

Posters were everywhere and fans were screaming at the cameras. The sound was deafening. I knew I was in the middle of Bieber Fever just by the sheer volume of the shreeks.

Teenage girls wore shirts that read, “I LUV JB,” and “Marry me, Justin!” Suddenly, the loud speakers played Justin Bieber’s hit song, “Baby,” and fans began singing along to the lyrics. They cried, screamed, and laughed as they shook with the Fever!

Before I knew it, the stars had arrived. The publicists were very friendly and brought actors and actresses to my spot on the rope line to talk to me. I interviewed the boy band Allstar Weekend, Debby Ryan from Suite Life on Deck, Bradley Steven Perry fromGood Luck Charlie, and Madeline Carroll from The Spy Next Door and Flipped.

“Keep reading,” said Zachary Gordon from Diary of a Wimpy Kid when I asked him what he would like to tell Scholastic News readers. “You always learn a life lesson from every book you read.”

I also caught a glimpse of Selena Gomez and Miley Cyrus. After each interview, I’d say to myself, “Did I really just interview that person?!” I had a blast hanging out with the stars!

Finally, Justin Bieber was heading my direction. The reporters around me told me I might only get to ask him one question, so I chose my favorite one. Justin gave me his full attention, and I hurriedly asked my question before they moved him away.

Reporters were squeezed all around me, trying to get a good shot of Justin. I tried to take in everything at once. It all happened in a flash, but I got two questions in. I found out we have one thing in common—we both do household chores!

The cast and crew also came my way. Scooter Braun, Justin’s manager, was just like Justin described in his book First Step 2 Forever—excited, funny, and super friendly. I asked him what he saw as the greatest growth in Justin.

“He’s becoming a man,” Scooter told me. “It’s not just about how he handles his success, but he also handles his failures very well.”

Dan Cutforth, one of the producers of Never Say Never, described Biebermania.

“If you hold your microphone in the air, and say Justin’s coming, you’ll see it first hand,” he explained. “It’s just some sort of strange power that overtakes crowds of teenage girls. It’s simply a phenomenon.”

It was a fantastic, amazing night that I’ll never forget. Check out my video interview with the stars on the purple carpet! But be careful. You could catch the fever, too!

©Scholastic Inc. First published online 
 
About Cassandra Hsiao

Cassandra Hsiao is a senior at OCSA (Orange County School of the Arts). Her work has been nationally recognized by the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards and National Student Poets Program. She has been chosen as finalists of playwriting competitions held by California Young Playwrights, The Blank Theatre, Writopia Labs, and Princeton University. Her poetry, essays and reviews have appeared in TeenReads, Jet Fuel Review, Feminine Inquiry, Aerie International and more. She also conducts print and on-camera interviews as a Star Reporter and Film Critic for multiple online outlets. She won a National Gracie Award in Student Online Video Host Category by The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation . https://twitter.com/Cassandra_Hsiao

Posted on February 8, 2011, in Interview Videos, Interviews, Red Carpet Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

