Ben Carson – Gifted Hands

Let me tell you about Ben Carson. He was raised in the ghettos of Detroit by a single mother who had a third-grade education. He lacked motivation, had terrible grades and his explosive temper almost landed him in jail. So how did this African American boy end up graduating from Yale, becoming the director of pediatric neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions in Maryland and gaining worldwide recognition for separating Siamese twins joined at the back of the head?

I’ll tell you how. By his relentless faith in God.

Sonya Carson constantly encouraged her son by saying, “Bennie, you can do it. Don’t you stop believing that for one second. You just ask the Lord, and He’ll help you.”

I know it’s like a cliche to most of you, but this book really inspired me to actually believe in that. After I read the book, I realized that whatever I want to do or to be I can ask God, and if it glorifies Him, He will give it to me.

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” – Matthew 7:7

“If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.” – Matthew 21:22

“and receive from him anything we ask, because we obey his commands and do what pleases him.” – 1 John 3:22

See what I mean? It’s all in God’s hands. Tell God whatever you want to tell Him. I used to wonder why do we need to tell God how we feel and what we really want if God knows our every thought.

“You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.” – Psalm 139:2

Here’s the way I imagine it: God is our Father. If you are a parent and you know what your child wants for his or her birthday, you would want your child to come and tell you what he or she wants. The child will be delighted that you have listend to his or her request on their birthday.

God also wants you to tell him. In one incident, Ben Carson was about to fail his chemestry test in Yale. He prayed to God. “I need help,” he prayed. “Being a doctor is all I’ve ever wanted to do, and now it looks like I can’t. And, Lord, I’ve always had the impression You wanted me to be a doctor. I’ve worked hard and focused my life that way, assuming that’s what I was going to do. But if I fail chemistry I’m going to have to find something else to do.”

God didn’t want him to fail. That night, he dreamed that a figure wrote down the problems and solutions on the blackboard. When he woke up, he quickly wrote down the notes from his dream. The problems that the figure had shown him was on that chemistry test. God answered Ben’s prayer.

Ben expressed his thanks to God. “It’s clear that You want me to be a doctor. I’m going to do everything within my power to be one. I’m going to learn to study.”

See? Everything will work according to God’s plan.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” – Romans 8:28

God has already marked our calenders. It’s just a matter of time.

PS – Read the book. Watch the movie. Very touching

About Cassandra Hsiao

Cassandra Hsiao is a senior at OCSA (Orange County School of the Arts). Her work has been nationally recognized by the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards and National Student Poets Program. She has been chosen as finalists of playwriting competitions held by California Young Playwrights, The Blank Theatre, Writopia Labs, and Princeton University. Her poetry, essays and reviews have appeared in TeenReads, Jet Fuel Review, Feminine Inquiry, Aerie International and more. She also conducts print and on-camera interviews as a Star Reporter and Film Critic for multiple online outlets. She won a National Gracie Award in Student Online Video Host Category by The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation . https://twitter.com/Cassandra_Hsiao

Posted on April 24, 2011, in Books Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

