A Summer of Joy to Give Away

What’s the best way to spend summer vacation? Many teens spend their summer vacation in summer school, summer  camps, and alternating between the computer and hanging out with friends. I realized that there is a more meaningful and fruitful way to spend my summer.

Two months ago,  Pastor Howard at my church shared his testimonies about his outreach to the senior centers.  I was very inspired by his message, and I wanted to bring joy to the seniors.

I started organizing a musical performance at The Regency Grand at West Covina Assisted Living and Independent Living Senior Center. I asked many of my friends to join, and soon I had about 10 performers from ages 8 – 16.

Finally, the day of the performance June 26 afternoon was here. I stepped up to the challenge, walking into the senior center with my fellow performers. In front of me were many seniors in wheelchairs or had walking sticks or canes. My friends and I handed out our program pamphlets and invited the seniors to watch our performance. The seniors made their way slowly towards the multipurpose room, eagerly waiting our program to start. I was very touched by their friendliness and eagerness, but I also felt their loneliness.

Once the performance got rolling smoothly, I could see the joy in the smiles of the seniors and in the enthusiastic applause after every performer. Our youth group played many instruments which include violin, cello, piano and flute. 8-year-old Kaitlyn sang “My favorite thing ” from the Sound of music; Jesse Chow (15 years old) performed break dance and Jeremy Hsiao (8 years old) recited “Jesus Throughout the Bible”.

Pastor Howard gave a great message about the Good News, and many hands went up when he asked who would like to invite Jesus into their lives. I was thrilled to see so many people saved that day. Praise the Lord!

Many seniors silently mouthing “beautiful” or “wonderful” during the performance. They told me that they really enjoyed it and wanted us to visit them again.

It was amazing to see the impact our musical performance had on the seniors. Although I faced a few hardships while organizing this event, it certainly paid off in the end. The joy on their faces was unmistakable, and it felt good to bring happiness to those who are in need of cheerfulness. I hope our musical performance will encourage you to make a difference. Making a difference is about actions. It’s about loving and doing good anyways, no matter what circumstances. Just like the Bible says in 1 Timothy 4:12 – “Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.”  The best way to spend summer vacation is to bring joy to others. We can put our youthfulness and energy into making a difference in people’s lives!!!

 

Published @ http://walnut.patch.com/blog_posts/a-summer-of-joy-to-give-away

About Cassandra Hsiao

Cassandra Hsiao is a senior at OCSA (Orange County School of the Arts). Her work has been nationally recognized by the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards and National Student Poets Program. She has been chosen as finalists of playwriting competitions held by California Young Playwrights, The Blank Theatre, Writopia Labs, and Princeton University. Her poetry, essays and reviews have appeared in TeenReads, Jet Fuel Review, Feminine Inquiry, Aerie International and more. She also conducts print and on-camera interviews as a Star Reporter and Film Critic for multiple online outlets. She won a National Gracie Award in Student Online Video Host Category by The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation . https://twitter.com/Cassandra_Hsiao

Posted on July 7, 2011, in Giving Back to the Community, Star Rapture Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You are an inspiration, Cassandra. Thank you!

  2. Thank you Natty! I’m glad this inspired you!!!! I hope it will inspire other young people to make a difference as well.

Leave a Reply

