It’s Your Time to Trust

 

Update: In early May, I had an interview with Brian Liu, who was just discharged from the hospital. Just last Monday, August 15 ,he found out that he has a relapse of leukemia, and is currently going through the second stage of chemotharapy. This testimony shows how he had trust in God in the past, and he is not merely going to survive this challenging time now, but he is going to thrive. It is Our Time to Trust !

If laughter is the measure of quality in our life, how are you on a scale of one to ten? Well, if you were talking with 16-year-old Brian Liu, you would never know from his cheerful and jolly voice that he was diagnosed with leukemia on December 18, 2011 and that just a few weeks ago, on April 29, 2011; he was discharged from the hospital.

“I’d say an eight or a nine,” replied Brian to the question about laughter in his life. “When I was in the hospital, my parents put on Joel Osteen’s (pastor of Lakewood Church in Houston, Texas) messages, and I listened to them every day. He tells a joke at the beginning of each sermon. I shared his jokes with the nurses and doctors, and the whole room would be filled with laughter and happiness.”

Brian managed to stay positive throughout this turbulence in life and his close brush with death. Faith in God really helped him pull through the 4 stages of chemotherapy, the side effects of chemotherapy, and a time when there was bleeding in the brain.

“Sometimes, I get really frustrated, and I just vent to God,” reflected Brian. “But God has helped me to cope. It takes my mind off of things, thinking about what’s He’s like. Although I never thought, ‘Why me,’ I wondered about it. I never really complained to God, because what happened has already happened.”

The news that Brian had leukemia was earth-shattering to his parents, but with the help of fellow church members and friends from Vineyard of Harvest (VOH), they managed to pull through. A river of prayer opened into their life from the first day Brian got on the ambulance to the hospital.

Brian’s trial started a prayer and fasting movement throughout the church. Once Brian was strong enough, visitors poured in from all directions, offering comfort to his parents and Brian.

“My mom or my dad would be there for me. All the time,” Brian said gratefully. “Friends supported me by visiting me and encouraging me. There were even some aunties and uncles that I had never met before who came to encourage and pray for me.”

Brian’s family had to go through unutterable pain and suffering – Brian’s suffering which they could do little to ease other than prayer.

During his recovery, Brian had to endure several “vigorous” therapies.

“It’s like being overwhelmed by school, and going through all the classes. I had visitors and therapy classes. It was pretty boring, actually. Oh wait, I had television. Scratch that, I was having the time of my life!” laughed Brian. “I went on short walks with my dad every day around the floor that we were currently on, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Even now, we take daily walks around the backyard – one of the highlights of my day.”

While he was recovering, Brian was able to leave the hospital for one very special day to come to church – Easter Sunday. Cheers and tears were everywhere, with VOH giving Brian a warm welcome.

“[I looked forward to] going back to normal life – life not in the hospital,” said Brian about his recovery. “I also looked forward to seeing friends from church.”

Brian also gave some advice to kids who are also going through the same trials and hardships.

“Trust God. Don’t worry about how you’re going to go through, because you will. God won’t let you go through something without a purpose.” 

God loves us and wants us to be deeply happy. Brian, a 16-year-old boy, demonstrated that all of us can be deeply happy in a world of conflict, pain, and disappointment. How can we do that? By loving and caring for each other, by following Jesus, by reaching out to those in need, and by making a difference in our daily lives.

If you would like to encourage Brian, please leave your messages at his blog :-

http://gripoffaith.pixnet.net/blog

About Cassandra Hsiao

Cassandra Hsiao is a senior at OCSA (Orange County School of the Arts). Her work has been nationally recognized by the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards and National Student Poets Program. She has been chosen as finalists of playwriting competitions held by California Young Playwrights, The Blank Theatre, Writopia Labs, and Princeton University. Her poetry, essays and reviews have appeared in TeenReads, Jet Fuel Review, Feminine Inquiry, Aerie International and more. She also conducts print and on-camera interviews as a Star Reporter and Film Critic for multiple online outlets. She won a National Gracie Award in Student Online Video Host Category by The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation . https://twitter.com/Cassandra_Hsiao

Posted on August 21, 2011, in Interviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Inspiring! Thank you, Cassandra and Brian!

Leave a Reply

