Gimme a Hug!

Man After God’s Own Heart

“Don’t forget to introduce yourself, give him a hug, introduce us, and take a family picture with him!” A sharp voice snapped me back to the present. My mom frantically paced back and forth in front of me. I was anxious and worried, but my mom was probably even more nervous than I was. My family and I were waiting in a cold, air-conditioned room for Nick Vujicic, to arrive. The limbless, limitless man has been the inspiration to millions of people, and now I would finally be able to meet him! The thought of meeting such a God-honoring man gave me shivers of excitement.

Finally, the door opened. A high wheelchair rolled into the room, and the sight of this handsome young man overwhelmed me. I stepped forward and breathlessly introduced myself, my parents and my brother. One of his favorite ice breaker was “Gimme a hug.” So all of us gave him a hug, and it was a unique warm, touched feeling that I will never forget. I wanted to cry, laugh, and tell the world that I had just hugged Nick Vujicic!

The nervous, panicky atmosphere had disappeared in a flash. His smile lightened up the entire room as we made introductions. Just as I was about to launch into the interview, Nick told me to pause.

“Let me tell you something really cool. If you prayed before the interview, it’ll really make sure that there are no technical difficulties,” he said. “Lord Jesus, we thank you for Cassandra. We thank you for the team. We thank you Lord that your presence is here and that you have touched so many people. Let there be no technical difficulties and bless Cassandra’s heart. May you encourage her and let others be encouraged. In Jesus’ name, Amen.”

Wow, he really is a man after God’s own heart, I thought, impressed and amazed. The interview started, and I couldn’t look away. His eyes were a mesmerizing sea of blue, and he never let his intense gaze leave my eyes. I felt like I could tell him anything in the world, and I totally forgot about the other people in the room. I soaked up every single word he said. When Nick told me that he had tried to suicide when he was ten, I almost cried. I tried to remain objective as a reporter, but it took a lot of effort to hold my tears in.

He was so sincere, genuine, and humble. I told him that he had been my hero since the 3rd grade, and his first reaction was to be surprised. “Are you serious?” he grinned, although I’m pretty sure millions of others have told him that he was their hero. He said, “Gimme a hug.” This was the second time I got to hug him. :)

Nick also was very considerate. He invited Jeremy into the picture – just a photo of the two of them. Nick made Jeremy feel so much more than just a tag-along sibling on a sister’s big assignment. Jeremy was on cloud nine!

Nick also offered to sign my book before I even asked him.  I was touched that he put so much thought into his little letter. It read,

Little did he know that I did Dream Big because I was with him! 

I  reflected on what he had said as he signed my book. He showed me that we can learn to accept what we can’t control and focus instead on what we can control. If a limbless man could live out such an extraordinary fulfilling life, why couldn’t I? I also learned the secret to his inner joy – knowing that God is always with him and has a purpose for his life. Nick knows where he’s going: to heaven, where there is no pain and suffering.

“The cool thing is that there is one thing better than going to heaven,” he said. “It’s to stay here today and bring one more person with us to heaven.”

We all took a family picture with him . I couldn’t believe what I just experienced! This was my most heart-warming, uplifting, inspiring night that I will never forget! Thank you Jesus for letting me to have cross paths with Nick Vujicic so that I will have faith to build a rewarding and productive life without limits.


About Cassandra Hsiao

Cassandra Hsiao is a senior at OCSA (Orange County School of the Arts). Her work has been nationally recognized by the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards and National Student Poets Program. She has been chosen as finalists of playwriting competitions held by California Young Playwrights, The Blank Theatre, Writopia Labs, and Princeton University. Her poetry, essays and reviews have appeared in TeenReads, Jet Fuel Review, Feminine Inquiry, Aerie International and more. She also conducts print and on-camera interviews as a Star Reporter and Film Critic for multiple online outlets. She won a National Gracie Award in Student Online Video Host Category by The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation . https://twitter.com/Cassandra_Hsiao

Posted on October 5, 2011, in Interviews, Star Rapture Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Another amazing article Cassie. Your writing brings your experience with him to life. His attitude reminds me of one of my favorite quotes from John Wooden; “Do not let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do.” He definately has not let his disabilities define what he can or cannot do.

    Nick K.

  2. I could not have said it better myself, Mr. K :) Nick V is an amazing person; just like you, Cassie.

    <3 Natty

Leave a Reply

