Little Women and Little Men


Ignore the fact that’s it’s considered a classic and let me tell you something: Read it for fun. Hey, don’t look at me that way, I do that. My friend looked at me kinda funny when I said, “I’m going to take a break,” and took out Little Men by Louisa May Alcott. OK, I admit, it’s idealistic – the characters are perfect and their flaws are perfectly perfect – but it’s the earnest sincerity, purity, and innocence that really tell the story. In the Little Women, the first book, we follow the lives of the four poor but happy and contented March sisters. In the Little Men, we look at Plumfield, an experimental school for boys, where the scholars are brought up not by harsh words or raps to the knuckles, but brought up with love. I look up to the little women as my role models, and all the boys in this world should have the little men as their role models. I was touched at the children’s unconditional love for others, and what the book doesn’t have in terms of depth, makes up in terms of arresting optimism. They are human angels we can all take life lessons from. Now I will always try to heap coals of fire on my enemies’ heads by giving a kiss for a blow, and when people are mean, though I have a right to be hurt, I don’t intend to show it. Thank you, March sisters for all that you’ve taught me, and thank you wild Dan, ragged orphan Nat, and all the rest of the little men for showing me around Plumfield, a heaven on earth.

About Cassandra Hsiao

Cassandra Hsiao is a senior at OCSA (Orange County School of the Arts). Her work has been nationally recognized by the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards and National Student Poets Program. She has been chosen as finalists of playwriting competitions held by California Young Playwrights, The Blank Theatre, Writopia Labs, and Princeton University. Her poetry, essays and reviews have appeared in TeenReads, Jet Fuel Review, Feminine Inquiry, Aerie International and more. She also conducts print and on-camera interviews as a Star Reporter and Film Critic for multiple online outlets. She won a National Gracie Award in Student Online Video Host Category by The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation . https://twitter.com/Cassandra_Hsiao

Posted on December 19, 2011, in Books Review, Star Rapture Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I totally agree with you on this one. I read Little Women about a year ago and I absolutely agree with your description of it. I haven’t gotten the chance to read Little Men, but I’ll try to get into it ASAP

  2. Sounds like a great Christmas gift! :)

  3. We need to talk about books more often. :)
    Isn’t it perfect how it’s Christmas Eve?

Leave a Reply

