Habit 1: Be Proactive

Be Proactive, Not Reactive. 

Based on the title, you’d think I’m writing something out of Sean Covey’s book, the Seven Habits of Highly Effective Teens. Well, you’re right!

Recently, I’ve been overhearing conversations that go something like this:

“That teacher, Mr. ABC, doesn’t teach anything. All he does is sit around and let us talk. I mean, the talking’s fine. But that’s, like, my lowest grade.”

“I know right? I don’t learn anything from him. He’s a horrible, boring teacher.”

Oh. I see. So Mr. ABC has the remote control of your learning.

Reactive people are controlled by the world around them. This doesn’t only consist of learning, but emotions as well.

“UGH! She makes me sooooo mad! I can’t stand sitting next to her!”

“I had a terrible day because someone insulted my intelligence.”

Yeah, yeah, I know, a bit far-fetched. But you get what I mean. The person who insulted you in the morning? They walked away without feeling a thing and had a perfectly fine day. But if you hold in that anger, that’s your problem, not that guy’s. You go around the rest of the day sad and depressed, because you gave the remote control to someone else.

One day at school, one of my classmates laughed at me for being Miss Goody Two Shoes because of my looonnggg essay. It bothered me for the rest of the day, until I asked myself, “Look. He probably doesn’t even remember what happened today. So who’s problem is it? Mine. It’s my anger, my sadness, and I am going to grab my remote control back and not let other people mess up my entire day. It’s MY day, and it’s gonna be a GOOD DAY.”

You see the logic in that? What’s the point of being sad and down and worrying yourself the entire weekend? Grab your remote control back NOW.

Back to learning – if you’re not learning anything from a certain class,  be proactive and talk to your teacher,  change classes or develop your own study habits.

So be proactive. Trust me. You’ll be much happier. Oh, and did I mention that YOU have control of your life, not the world? It’s true.

PS: You’re the man. Be the Boss. :)

Share your thoughts about being proactive and comment below! Tell us about your breakthroughs in grabbing the remote control back! I love to hear from you :D

About Cassandra Hsiao

Cassandra Hsiao is a senior at OCSA (Orange County School of the Arts). Her work has been nationally recognized by the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards and National Student Poets Program. She has been chosen as finalists of playwriting competitions held by California Young Playwrights, The Blank Theatre, Writopia Labs, and Princeton University. Her poetry, essays and reviews have appeared in TeenReads, Jet Fuel Review, Feminine Inquiry, Aerie International and more. She also conducts print and on-camera interviews as a Star Reporter and Film Critic for multiple online outlets. She won a National Gracie Award in Student Online Video Host Category by The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation . https://twitter.com/Cassandra_Hsiao

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Star Rapture Blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great message Cassie. I completely agree. Life is what you make of it. If you sit around blaming others for your faults you will never achieve anything.

  2. Thanks Mr. K for your comment!!! I found this quote that illustrates my point:

    “We have two choices: continue to blame the world for our stress or take responsibility for own reactions and deliberately change our emotional climate.” – Doc Childre and Howard Martin, HeartMath Solution

  3. Cassie… you should be a motivational speaker. :D Awesome post! My whole family could benefit from reading this, thanks a bunch.

Leave a Reply

